Artist Statement

Here is the first working of my artist statement:

My work is a response to all the experiences and information that I receive everyday. I take this input and edit and combine it to create a working image that will follow traditional aesthetics but encourage people to think about things they have not yet encountered. The art pieces are only a small glimpse into the thought process that goes on behind the physical output. I am influenced by everything I have seen in my life, from moving around the country to popular culture. Other artists inspire me to want to try things out for myself and I often borrow ideas and make them work for me. Some of my main influences are other artists, music, musicals, internet culture, television, and movies.

When someone comes across my work, I hope that they can reflect upon the decisions I made during the process and discover a new sense of awareness associated with this type of seeing. My work presents questions that the engaged viewer can consider with the understanding that there doesn’t need to be an answer. I want to create meaningful art, but I also want them to be objects and mean nothing at the same time. I want my art to catch someone’s attention from across the room and make them walk over and look and think about it.

This entry was posted in My Art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment