Studio Space and Summer and Future

The readings prompted me to think more about a studio space and how I would work in that space. Right now I prefer to work at night, but I was thinking during the summer I could get up and go to my studio space the same way I would go to class. It wouldn’t be so hard to get myself to start working if I didn’t have to set everything up and then take it down, so this summer my dad is going to help me create a studio space in the upper story of our garage. There is one window, but maybe we will put skylights in the roof. I worry about it being too hot, but hopefully the window and some fans will fix that. At home I don’t have anywhere to work that I can leave my stuff out and everything smells and I don’t want it in my living space. So, maybe this will work out, because I will be a lot more motivated to work if I can leave my stuff out and just go in when I want to work. Also, having a space just for working will help me concentrate.

In the future, I want a big open cold studio space. I’ll divide it up into a relax/clean/concept area, and a dirty/working area. It will need to have lots of ventilation because I don’t like thinking that I am being poisoned. I will also want there to be big windows for light and big walls to inspire me to cover. I not sure how the next few years will work out, but hopefully I will be able to pay for a space like this at some point in my career. I hope to work internationally in the UK and Japan. I feel like traveling is so inspiring because you have to reevaluate your view of the world every time. Again, I am not sure how to make this work, but I have confidence that it will happen sometime!

This summer I plan to keep making as much work as I did for my classes. Normally I hate summer work, but this is my profession and I need more experience. It will be nice to have something to be dedicated to, because I normally go crazy during the summer from boredom.

This entry was posted in My Art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment