Sophomore Seminar Experience

This Sophomore Seminar has been very helpful to me as a prompt for me to think about my own art. The readings were long at times, but there was always something I could take away from them. I think I have developed a stronger opinion on what I think art is, even though I still wouldn’t be sure how to define it. I wouldn’t have been as exposed to performance art and as much contemporary art if I hadn’t taken this class. I have never been a fan of performance art, but I am glad to know more about it. Finding out about contemporary artists has really helped me see how I am just like everyone else thinking the same things and that I can succeed too. The performances we attended I wouldn’t have gone to myself, but I still enjoyed them. It would have been fun to take more field trips as a class, because I really enjoyed visiting the ICA Boston and then having people to discuss it with. In discussions, I feel like I have gotten much better at speaking up, but sometimes I didn’t because I really didn’t know how to answer the questions. I have learned so much more about the BFA program and what I want to do, so I am looking forward to the support of the Senior Seminar next year.

This entry was posted in Lectures, My Art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment